top of page
STRIP1.png
CS-TV-LOGO.png
free-app.png

DOWNLOAD THE CHURCH STARS APP ON YOUR CELL PHONE
OR SMART TV

DEMARCUS BAILEY DOESN'T WRITE TO ENTERTAIN, HE WRITES TO INVOKE CHANGE


Church Stars had the privilege of chatting with the exceptionally talented playwright and screenwriter, Demarcus Bailey. We wanted to learn more about what goes on in that creative mind.

CS: Congratulations on another run of your stage play "ONE MOMMA". What was the inspiration for this play? Did you draw from your own personal experiences /interview people/observing friends loved ones?

DB: I ran foster home and I witnessed the

on boys growing up without their mothers. The one commonality was the love/hate relationships each of the boys had with their mother. I wanted to explore that creatively and did so with "One Mama".

CS: Tell us a little bit about the plot?

DB: This dramatic play revolves around a mother who, as a result of being incarcerated, can't raise her children . Upon her release from prison, she attempts to recapture those lost moments. However, her son, is bitter, further straining their already awkward reunion and the drama ensues.

CS: Do you have a special "ritual/habit" when sitting down to write a new script? And what is your process when choosing the actor who will play each part? How long does it usually take to develop your characteristics?

DB: I'm not a fan of acting, per se, so I prefer to customize the scripts for whomever I choose to cast. For instance, I can develop a script that is tailor made for just about anyone by simply observing them in their element, being themselves. I watch all the little nuances of their body language, facial expressions, and language in their natural environment and it takes as long as it takes.

CS: What do you want your audiences to walk away with?

DB: I don't really write to entertain. I write to invoke change, conversation, self reflection and action It's imperative that my writing has purpose. Personally, in this instance, I'm rooting for forgiveness.

CS: What's next for DeMarcus Bailey?

DB: I wrote a script for a movie entitle " 80/20", so i hope to film this summer.

CS: If you could go where no man has ever gone (creatively), where would you go?

DB: I would have a conversation with the Lord to make sure that I'm doing His will and if not, I'd ask Him to let me know what it is.

It would appear that Mr. Demarcus Bailey is somewhere in the ballpark of where he's supposed to be. And God will surely let him know for sure.. Whatever the plan is, we're sure to see great things from this brilliantly gifted man. We wish you the best Demarcus!

"ONE MOMMA" THE STAGE PLAY

MAY 6, 2017

CROSSLAND HIGH SCHOOL

6901 TEMPLE HILLS ROAD

TEMPLE HILLS, MD 20748

TICKETS AVAILABLE AT


bottom of page